Cisl Lombardy

Cisl Lombardy is a regional trade unione coordination structure of Cisl. It consists of a Regional General Secretariat, an Executive Committee and a General Council.
The Regional General Secretariat is the legal representative of the Regional Territorial Union (Rtu). The Regional Secretariat represents Cisl in disputes with third parties and with the public authorities. It is responsible for the management of the Rtu financial assets and any financial and economic activities promoted and managed in the pursuit of common objectives.
There are three other regional Secretariats assisting the General Secretariat in the coordination of activities at the regional level.

The Cisl Lombardy defines its policies independently through its General Council and Executive Committee.
The Regional General Council is the authority that approve the Rtu policies between a Congress and the other; it has the task to define the general addresses of the unionist and organizational activity starting from the congress decisions. The Regional General Council elects: the General Secretariat; the possible added General Secretariat; the other regional secretariat; the Executive committee.

The Executive Committee coordinates the unionist and organizational activities of regional interest, approves the balance sheet of the Rtu, ratifies the balance sheet of the Cisl’s Associations and Entities, approves the Statutes and the ethical report of the same Associations and Entities.

Cisl Lombardy has 788,000 members. Approximately 1,400 political and technical operators are employed at the Regional and Local level, pursuing the interests of affiliated workers and their families. At the local level, Cisl Lombardy is composed of 8 local Trade Unions, 19 Branches (also named Federations) and 9 Organizations, Associations and Foundations. The Local Unions focus on collective bargaining, promotion and support of networks (individual and collective family and social welfare). Through its network of services and associations, they provide assistance to active and retired workers with fiscal issues, social security, legal matters, insurance, housing, training and professional life, consumer rights, immigration procedures and international development cooperation.

The 8 Local Trade Unions are:
– Cisl Bergamo
– Cisl Brescia
– Cisl Monza Brianza Lecco
– Cisl Asse del Po
– Cisl Milano Metropoli
– Cisl Pavia Lodi
– Cisl Sondrio
– Cisl dei Laghi

The 19 Branches assist active and retired workers in negotiations with employers and local administrations; they ensure worker representation in the workplace and promote health, safety and professional re-qualification.

The 19 Federations are:

FAI – Agriculture and Food Industry Federation. Workers employed in the food sector, in agriculture and cattle breeding, in flower and ornamental plant production
FIM – Italian Federation of Metalworkers. Steel and metalworkers, automotive industry, electronics industry and shipyards
FILCA – Italian Federation of workers in the Construction, Wood and similar sectors. Construction industry, wood, marble workers, building materials manufacturing sector
FEMCA – Federation of Energy, Fashion, Chemical, and similar sectors. Textile, Leather and Clothing workers. Workers in the chemical, pharmaceutical and oil industries, water and gas corporation employees, miners and workers in the rubber, plastics, ceramics and glass sectors. Textile and clothing industry workers, leather, footwear and toy industry workers
FLAEI – Federation of Electricity Workers. Employees of Enel (National Electricity Corporation), as well as other municipal electricity utilities and the Energy Study Centers
FISTEL – Federation of show business, information and telecommunications. Printing and paper industries, employees in the public and private broadcasting sector, corporations, show business, telecom and sub-contracting companies
UGC – General Union of Farmers.
FISASCAT – Italian Federation of Commerce, Services and Tourism industry workers. Workers in the commerce, services and tourism sectors, religious organizations, circus workers, employees of gaming houses and casinos, charities, lotteries, civilian staff on Nato and American bases, cleaning industry workers
FIRST – Italian Federation of Bank and Insurance workers. Banking sector workers and employees from ABI (Italian Banking Association) and insurance companies
FIT – Italian Transport Federation. Employees of the National Railways Corporation, railway workers, navigation company workers (inland waterways), traffic controllers, Anas and motorway employees, porters, airport and air transport workers, employees of harbor facilities, longshoremen and seamen
FLP – Federation of Post Office workers. Employees of the Ministry of Postal Services and Telecommunications (central and peripheral agencies, employees of the Public Telephone Corporation and subcontracting companies)
FPS – Federation of Territorial Utilities Workers and Civil Service Federation. Employees of the Health Ministry, public hospitals, private clinics, Regions, Provinces and Municipalities and Civil servants, employees of public non-commercial organizations, public institutions, embassies and consulates
FNP – National Federation of Pensioners – retired workers
FIR – Public sector research. Employees of public research institutes
Cisl Scuola – All categories of workers in the school system
Cisl Università – University faculty and non-teaching staff
Cisl Medici – Physicians and Veterinarians employed by the NHS (Hospitals and Territorial Service physicians) and resident Physicians (General Medicine, Specialist medicine, Pediatrics etc.)
Federazione Vigili del Fuoco – National Firefighters’ Federation
FELSA – Association of independent workers in the commercial and services sector. Independent workers in various sectors

CISL-related organizations include:
• ADICONSUM (Consumer Rights)
• ANOLF (Migration Issues and coexistence)
• BIBLIOLAVORO (Research and Training Center)
• CAF (Fiscal Assistance)
• ETSI (Social Tourism)
• IAL (Professional training)
• INAS (Social Assistance)
• ISCOS (International development cooperation)
• SICET (Social Housing)